This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Sudan

Sudan is made up of 18 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Sudan. Information on all primary administrative regions in Sudan.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Sudan.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Sudan alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Sudan

There are 18 regions in Sudan in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Sudan
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Al Jazirah Al Jazirah State1.2,796,330Wad Medani Wad Medani332,714
Al Qadarif Al Qadarif State2.1,369,300Al Qadarif Al Qadarif363,945
Blue Nile Blue Nile3.832,112Ad-Damazin Ad-Damazin186,051
Central Darfur Central Darfur State4.-Zalingei Zalingei28,687
Eastern Darfur East Darfur5.-El Daein El Daein264,734
Kassala Kassala State6.1,171,118Kassala Kassala401,477
Khartoum Khartoum7.7,152,102Khartoum Khartoum1,974,647
Northern Darfur North Darfur8.1,583,179El Fasher El Fasher252,609
Northern State Northern9.833,743Dongola Dongola13,473
Red Sea Red Sea10.1,396,000Port Sudan Port Sudan489,725
River Nile River Nile11.1,008,493Ed Damer Ed Damer103,941
Shamal Kurdufan North Kordofan12.3,340,000El Obeid El Obeid393,311
Sinnar Sennar13.1,502,047Singa Singa44,626
Southern Darfur South Darfur14.2,890,348Nyala Nyala-
Southern Kordofan South Kordofan15.1,111,859Kadugli Kadugli87,666
West Kordofan State Western Kordofan16.-El Fula El Fula-
Western Darfur West Darfur17.1,006,801Geneina Geneina162,981
White Nile White Nile18.1,188,707Rabak Rabak135,281